About Me

About Me

picture credit: Tobias Christoph

May 17, 2021

Hi, hello, greetings and salutations! Welcome to Stella’s Chronicles. I actually hate writing descriptions about myself, since they probably won’t be accurate a few months from now- but hey, here I am, writing one anyway! My name is Stella, and I started stellaschronicles as a UWC blog, with the intention of sharing a little bit about my experience at AC and the hope that the posts might help other people who want to apply to UWC. If you want to know more about my UWC journey starting from my (two!) applications up to the call from the selection committee, you can read all about it here. I did end up getting chewed up and spit out by the IB, and therefore not writing a lot of posts, buuut we don’t talk about that. My IB subjects were HL: German Literature, Social and Cultural Anthropology, English Language and Literature SL:Music, Environmental Systems and Societies, Math SL. I am now a UWC Atlantic College 18-20 alum! I still hope that you will find some of the UWC posts helpful though. I will be starting college in the US in August 2021 and am planning to post some stuff about that, but feel free to peruse the ‘UWC’ section of my blog! 😊

So, in the words of Mick Jagger: please allow me to introduce myself. My name is Stella, at the time of writing I am 20 years old, and I am from Austria and Germany. I did the International Baccalaureate program at United World College of the Atlantic in Wales, and graduated in May 2020. We all know what else happened around that time in 2020 *cough*, but we won’t talk too much about that. I had been planning to take a gap year for long before that, but because of the pandemic a lot of my gap year plans fell through. Why is this starting to sound like a resume or something? Anyway, I did manage to go to France and stay with a host family for 4 months as well as get my DELF B2 certificate! My time in France was an incredible experience, despite everything, and it ignited my love for language learning. At the time of writing, I am fluent in German (native) and English, B2 (upper intermediate) level in French, and I recently started self-studying Korean. I’m hoping to be able to study a new language at college (so many to choose from, ahh!), and many more later on!

Since I don’t know how to structure this anymore, here are some quick-facts about me:

Full name: Stella Theresa König

Age: 20

Nationality: Austria and Germany

Occupation: soon-to-be college student in the US with a major in either International Relations or Environmental Studies, used to be UWC AC student

Interests: languages, scuba diving, reading, photography/videography, music, environment (specifically oceans!)

Talents: taking out spiders for my friends, falling asleep on the train or bus but somehow always waking up exactly when it’s my stop, ranting on goodreads, occasionally destroying my friends at foosball but only if it’s the right day of the month, the right season of the year, and Jupiter is in zenith

Favorite book: too hard to choose! If you’re interested in what my favorites are you can head over to my goodreads account

Favorite food: my mom’s vegan Kaiserschmarrn

Worst fear: sending a professional email that has a dumb typo in it (the horror)